Beginning March 1, first-time drivers between the ages of 18 and 24 must take a six-hour driver education course before they can receive a license. This is a result of several new laws that went into effect in September 2009, and this one in particular is a response to the growing number of teenagers who avoided “driver's ed” by waiting until they were 18 to get a license.
But with almost 20 percent of car crashes in Texas involving 18- to 24-year-old drivers, it was obvious to lawmakers that more training was needed. The law that went into effect this week has closed this loophole.
The six-hour course covers topics such as road signs, driving rules, insurance, and drunk driving. Students must pass a written test in addition to the DPS driving skills test to get a license.
Looking for a class
This increased training is still less than what is required for those under 18, who must take a 32-hour driver education class, plus seven hours of practical training behind the wheel.
Anything that makes Texas drivers safer is good for all of us.
Source: Dallas Morning News
Laugh Off That Ticket In The Best Defensive Driving Course Online and In More Classrooms
Comedy Guys Defensive Driving™ school (CO728) by A Safer Driver, Inc. (CP728) is Texas State Approved. We provide the shortest online defensive driving course allowed by law and it works on iPhones, iPads, Android and other mobile devices plus, instant certificate download is available.
Comedy Guys Defensive Driving classroom instruction provides more scheduled defensive driving classes taught by professional entertainers than any other safety school in Texas. We are rated A+ by the Better Business Bureau and we back your experience with our iron-clad money-back guarantee.
Finish Our Course Today, Download Your Certificate Today