Michigan is quickly becoming one more state to ban texting while driving. Legislation originally passed by the Michigan Senate was approved by the House also on April 20th, with a vote of 74 to 33.
The ban, which could take effect as soon as July 1, makes texting while driving a primary offense, empowering police officers to pull drivers over for that reason alone. Offenders could face first-time fines of $100 and subsequent penalties of $200.
The move has so far been applauded by citizens groups and police departments across Michigan.
The dangers of texting and all other forms of distracted driving are a big part of our classes at Comedy Guys Defensive Driving. We are dedicated to making Texas a safer place to drive by making a safer driver out of everyone who takes our class either online or at one of our over 30 class locations.