|COMEDY GUYS HOMEPAGE|
|COMEDY GUYS CLASSSES & LOCATIONS|
|COMEDY GUYS ONLINE COURSE|
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Comedy Guys Defensive Driving™ school (CO728) by A Safer Driver, Inc. (CP728) is Texas State Approved. The following are answers to common questions about our live driving safety classes, and our convenient online course.
Getting a speeding ticket dismissed in Texas by taking a state-certified defensive driving course can be a daunting task.
You need to do everything right to satisfy the court's requirements, but at the same time you don't want to spend any more time or money getting this done than you have to.
So it's only natural that someone looking for the right driving safety course would have questions.
We hope this page has gone a long way toward answering your questions about Texas defensive driving and about our Comedy Guys course in particular.
Classroom Course (10)
State regulations require that the class last six hours, but there are numerous breaks — roughly one after each hour — and a 30-minute break for the meal that is included in the cost of the course.
The total cost of the six-hour classroom course — including entertainment, a meal and refreshments, and your Certificate of Completion — is $44.95.
The total cost of the six-hour online course is $34.95 (Look for our online discount that makes the online course only $29.95…the cheapest the state will allow!)
You may pay online with your credit card or pay cash at the class when you actually take it.
Yes and yes. If you begin our online course and then your plans change, or you just decide you don’t want to finish it, call our online support line at 888-401-3748. With one phone call, you can cancel your online course and get your credit card payment refunded to you any time before your certificate of completion is printed.
You can register online at comedyguys.com or call our offices:
Dallas – 214-426-6339
Tarrant County – 817-849-8181
Houston – 713-426-6339
Toll free statewide – 877-826-6339
No, any state-approved course can be used for a ticket from anywhere in Texas and many other states as well.
For courts outside of Texas, check with the court that issued your ticket to ask whether you can take our course to have the ticket dismissed.
Your driver’s license or other photo ID, for identification purposes
Pen and paper, for taking notes during the class (which you can use on your test)
The paperwork related to any tickets, so that we can have the exact name of the court issuing the ticket
Cash to pay the cost of the class (or pay by credit card when reserving online).
You do not need to bring your proof of auto insurance to the class.
No. TDLR doesn’t allow smoking in any of its accredited classes, but there will be numerous breaks during the six-hour session.
No, state regulations require six hours. We ask that our students arrive at least 15 minutes early, to avoid the risk of being too late to take the class.
A small group of people – usually from 15 to 50 – gather in a room for a six-hour session. We cover the 11 topics required by the state, but we make the classes as enjoyable as possible. Roughly five hours of the time is spent covering the material, either by listening to the instructor or watching videos. The remaining time is spent taking the review exam at the end, filling out a form to get your Certificate of Completion, or enjoying numerous breaks and a meal.
General Questions (12)
Yes, you may use Defensive Driving to have a ticket dismissed once per year, even if you’ve already taken the class to reduce your insurance rates. In some cases, you may be able to have a second ticket dismissed in less than twelve months if the second court grants you permission to do so.
If you’re under the age of 25, a judge may request you take the course for any moving violation.
You may use a Defensive Driving course instead of paying a ticket only once per year, unless the court in question gives you special permission to repeat the class for ticket dismissal within a shorter period of time.
The Drivers License Points System was enacted in 2003 as part of the Driver Responsibility Law (part of HB 3588). This system assigns points to individual’s driving records for all moving violations classified as Class C misdemeanors.
2 pts. for a moving violation conviction in Texas or another state
3 pts. for a conviction for a moving violation that resulted in a vehicle crash, in Texas or another state
0 pts. are assigned for seat belt violation convictions or for speeding less than 10% over the posted limit.
Points remain on your record for three years.
DPS will fine drivers who accumulate a total of six points or more on their records within a six-year period. Drivers pay $100 for the first six points and $25 for each additional points until enough time has gone by for those points to be removed from their records.
If you have a driver license from another state and receive a traffic ticket in Texas, you may have the ticket dismissed by taking a Texas driving safety course if the judge gives you permission to do so. Contact the court named on your ticket and ask.
That’s a question that has to be answered by the court that issued the citation. Contact the court named on your ticket and ask whether a defensive driving course approved in Texas will satisfy their requirements. Usually, the answer is “yes,” but it will be that court’s decision.
Yes. Both the classroom and online course have a 25-question, multiple-choice test at the end. The test for the online course is comprised from a selection of 25 questions from a bank of 100.
On the rare occasion that someone doesn’t pass the test at the end of the classroom course, the instructor will review the material and allow that student to take the test again. Online, students will have two chances to review material and re-take the test.
If serious means “does it cover the subject according to state regulations,” then yes, it is serious. Our classes are dedicated both to meeting all state requirements and to helping our students to become safer drivers.
If serious means “is it boring,” then the answer is no, not at all. Six hours in a class can be a long time, but our instructors are all professional comedians, and we work hard to teach the subject in the most entertaining way possible.
Just because you’re learning doesn’t mean you can’t have fun.
We follow a state-approved curriculum in content, but not delivery.
It has been our experience that humor puts people at ease, encourages participation, and increases retention. Though our course covers some serious subjects, we keep it as entertaining as possible.
Currently, both our live classes and our online course are only availabe in English.
Yes, both our classroom course and our online course are licensed by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (they're TDLR to their friends) as an approved driving safety course.
Most municipal court judges and justices of the peace require you to contact the court before you take the driving safety course for purposes of ticket dismissal. Be sure to obtain the court’s permission first.
A certificate of driving safety course completion cannot be saved and used for a later traffic violation. You must compete the driving safety course AFTER the traffic violation, and the court may dismiss only one charge.
Tickets can only be dismissed by defensive driving if the court that issued the ticket has given you permission to do so.
Texas state law allows you to dismiss one traffic ticket every 12 months by taking a TDLR-approved driving safety course. You must not possess a Commercial Driver License (CDL); you must admit guilt or sign a statement that you do not contest the citation (nolo contendere); and if you were charged with speeding, your speed must be less than 25 miles per hour above the posted speed limit.
There are other criteria, and the court has the final decision on whether you’ll be permitted to dismiss the ticket by completing a driving safety course.
Yes, if your insurance company gives a discount for defensive driving, this course will qualify. Contact your insurance company to learn whether it gives this discount or not.
Online Course (18)
Simply put, it is a course in defensive driving that is presented online using text with audio, animation, and video clips. Like a classroom course, state-approved online courses must meet the state’s legal requirements, take six hours to complete, and cover the eleven topics required by the TDLR.
Our classroom course is more lively and interactive. It puts you with a group of people in your same situation, with a live instructor and includes a meal.
Working online is more efficient, allowing you to work alone, progressing through the curriculum at your own speed. Though both classes are six hours long, the biggest advantage of the course online is that these do not have to be six consecutive hours. You decide when to login and how long you want to work.
The total cost of the six-hour online course, including your emailed Certificate of Completion, is $34.95. Often there will be a valid discount code that reduces that price
The classroom version of our course — including entertainment, a meal and refreshments, and standard delivery of Certificate of Completion — is $39.95.
Currently, we are only accepting credit or debit cards for the online course.
The online course is completely self-contained. You won't need to download or install anything to take the course. And you will not have to visit other web sites nor travel to other locations.
The State of Texas requires that all driving safety classes must be six hours long, whether done in person or online.
When it comes to time, the real advantage to take a driving safety course online is that is doesn't have to be done all in one sitting. You can log in and out anytime you want and as many times as you want, so you can really make the online course fit your schedule.
You may login and out whenever you want. The class will still take a minimum of six hours from beginning to end, but you decide when and for how long you want to work.
Most mobile devices will work fine with our course.
Microsoft Internet Explorer 6 or above, Mozilla Firefox or Opera, or Apple Safari
Windows Media Player 10 or above, or Quicktime player
For the video segments to load and run properly, a high-speed (broadband, DSL or faster) Internet connection.
With a high-speed Internet connection, our course should operate using Apple Safari, though it may be necessary for you to use alternative Quicktime versions of our video clips
At the bottom of each page is a button that looks like a stop sign. Click there to save your place and logout.
Or just close the browser window. Our program automatically records what page you were working on last, so that when you login next time, you will be on that page again.
You have 180 days from the date you register to complete your course requirements. You should know that most courts only give you 90 days to complete a defensive driving course from the date you request permission from the court to take such a course and pay your court costs.
From our experience, the longer it takes to complete the course the more difficult it is for students to pass the final test. Therefore, we recommend you complete the course within a few days.
The course automatically keeps track of each page you complete. Therefore, if you should become disconnected or accidentally close your Internet browser, you will be able to return to the page you were on before that happened.
If you receive an error message during any part of the online course, payment processing, or registration, please write down the entire error message and call the technical support phone number: 888-401-3748.
Yes. Contact us online at ComedyGuys.com or toll-free by phone at 888-401-3748.
No. We will keep track of your progress so you can logon from any computer and continue from where you left off.
If you forget your password, from the login screen, enter your Driver License Number then click on the button labeled Email. Your password will be sent to the email address on file.
We confirm your identity by confirming your driver’s license information with the Texas Department of Public Safety and your vehicle registration information with the Department of Motor Vehicles. Both of these sources are public information.
Ccredit card information you provide is sent to authorize.net to verify your card and charge your account. We do not store information regarding your credit card on our system.
Information you provide to us is used solely to confirm your identity with the Texas Department of Public Safety and the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Any credit card information is transmitted immediately to Authorize.net to verify your card information and charge your account. We do not store any of your credit card information on our system.
Your personal information will not be shared with any outside party, with the sole exception of the Texas Education Agency, as is required by their regulations.
All information is encrypted and protected by a Secure Socket Layer or SSL.
We've tried to set up the videos in our online course so that they'll play on any device without problems, but with computers, phones, operating systems, applications, and video formats all changing as fast as they do it's hard to make every video play without problems for every customer.
So as a backup, we've loaded the online course videos onto YouTube. If they won't play for you normally, you can open this page in a separate browser window and watch the videos this way. Then return to the online course and answer the video question.
Your Certificate of Completion (6)
Certificates from our online course are created automatically after you complete the course. Then your certificate is mailed the next business day or — for a small fee — we can email you a computer link that will let you print your certificate right away.
For our live classes, certificates are created the next business day after the class. Then they can be mailed, or you can pay the same fee as our online customers to get your certificate as soon as it's created.
We also offer a variety of overnight delivery options for anyone who still needs them.
We will send the certificate directly to you because it must be signed by you before it goes to the court.
If you need to us to re-email your certificate to you, we can. There is a charge of $10, because we have to create a new version of the certificate, using a certificate number that we buy from the state.
But to be honest, since we began emailing certificates, this situation has mostly disappeared. We email the certificate to you to print out. If you lose what you printed, simply open your email and print another copy.
We email certificates of completion to whatever email address you provided when you registered for the online course or when you filled out the information form during our live class.
Certificates are emailed Monday through Friday, so you should never have to wait more than two days for your certificate to arrive, and that's only if you took a class on a Saturday and it wasn't typed until Monday.
If your certificate does not arrive when you think it should, there are a few things to do.
- First, check your email program's “spam” or trash folders. Because we have the word “comedy” in our name, the settings on many email programs will automatically put whatever we send you with the trash or spam.
- If that doesn't find your certificate, call us at 877-826-6339. Most of the time, the problem is a typo or other error in your email address.
Contact our offices with the correct information.
If we get the correct information before we’ve emailed your certificate, we can print a new one for no charge.
If the original has already been emailed, we must charge $10 for a replacement because we will have to create a new certificate using one of the numbers we purchase from the state.
For years, the answer to this was “no.”
But since November 2018, you can print it for yourself for a small fee. If you take our live class, we'll email the certificate to . If you take the online course, you'll get a link to print your certificate immediately after taking the course.
And if the copy you print is lost, just print another copy.
Your Driving Record (3)
You can request it by mail from the Texas Dept of Public Safety, but that often takes a few weeks.
Most people either get them online from texas.gov or they pay us a small fee to get it for them.
Online is the fastest way to go, but we're talking about typing information into a computer (and a government computer at that). Get one number wrong and it won't work. Get it wrong to many times and you'll be locked out for 24 hours before you can try again. This is why so many people avoid the hassle and ask us to get their driving records for them.
No. A court may require you to get a copy of your driving record and present it to the court, but you won’t need it to take our class.
Since 2003, Texas has had a point system for drivers. Every moving violation attaches a number of points to your driving record, which stay there for three years. If you earn six points or more in any three-year period, you will be fined an annual surcharge by the state until those points.
Points on your record may also affect what you pay for auto insurance.
A driving safety course can prevent a ticket and the points that go with it from appearing on your record, which is why defensive driving is so popular.
Laugh Off That Ticket In The Best Defensive Driving Course Online and In More Classrooms
Comedy Guys Defensive Driving™ school (CO728) by A Safer Driver, Inc. (CP728) is Texas State Approved. We provide the shortest online defensive driving course allowed by law and it works on iPhones, iPads, Android and other mobile devices plus, instant certificate download is available.
Comedy Guys Defensive Driving classroom instruction provides more scheduled defensive driving classes taught by professional entertainers than any other safety school in Texas. We are rated A+ by the Better Business Bureau and we back your experience with our iron-clad money-back guarantee.
Finish Our Course Today, Download Your Certificate Today